South African Amapiano Awards Reveal Amapiano Artists Set To Perform At The Awards Show

South African Amapiano Awards Reveal Amapiano Artists Set To Perform At The Awards Show. Amapiano artists in the country are being recognised with an award show that focuses on them and their sound. The announcement of the first South African Amapiano Music Awards was made on Twitter to highlight notable achievers within a genre that’s taking the world by storm.

The SA Amapiano Awards organisation took to social media to share the list of amapiano artists set to perform at the awards ceremony which will take place in October. Artists that have been confirmed are Miano, MDU aka TRP, Semi Tee, Nobantu Vilakazi, DJ Melzi, Mpho Sebina, Focalistic, Busta 929, Sir Trill, Pabi Cooper, Mr JazziQ, Reece Madlisa & Zuma, Kamo Mphela, and Boohle.

According to Charmaine Mthethwa, SAAPA vice-president of communication, the 20-category awards were founded and organised by a novice entity known as Amapiano Governing Body. The organisation is made up of “industry professionals and stakeholders who are passionate about the genre and felt the need to award its creators”. Organisers have promised that winners will receive R10,000 in each category, while a grand prize of R50,000 will be handed to the artist that will scoop the song of the year. “This is long overdue, somebody had to do it for the culture and it is our goal as the governing body to see these young artists receive the trophies that are due to them. They deserve them.”

The coveted song of the year category includes among others Ke Star by Focalistic, John Wick by De Mthuda, Dinaledi by Major League DJz and Amanikiniki by MFR Souls. The artist of the year category gives recognition to Mphela, Major League DJz, DBN Gogo, Focalistic and Lady Du.

Start typing and press Enter to search